Can you convince?

I’m going to make a statement which you might question and then I’ll try justify and explain what I mean.

Part of coaching is convincing your players.

Having newly stepped into a role with older and more experienced players I’m feeling the need to convince the group that I can coach and help them to win games. As this is a new role for me and the players don’t know me as well as their previous coach, the responsibility is now on me to fill the void left by the previous coach and to make them want to play for me as well. If the impression they get is a negative one and one of “he doesn’t know what he’s talking about” then in my opinion my job of trying to coach and manage the players will become harder. If I am able to convince the players and build a positive relationship with them then they will be more willing to work with me.

Setting the tone.

I feel a big part of ‘convincing’ with any group of players or athletes is how you prepare and carry yourself. I have made sure that I have correctly prepared and even over prepared for training and match days. For me, this shows to them that I am planning in order to make the better and I am coming with my own ideas and methods. This visual representation of my preparation hopefully signals to them ‘that he knows what he’s talking about’. At the end of the day, I have, just like every other coach, have completed the necessary learning of how to coach and what to coach but in my experiences players want to see more than that.

I have also tried to carry myself, in a positive but professional manner. Having this welcoming approach towards the players slowly trying to understand them as a person and a player will help with my professional relationship. If I had come in too jokey and enthusiastic I feel this might have made them question if I take what I do serious. Choosing your first impression is vital and one that I’ve prided myself on. As I have started to work with older players I chose a more mature but positive approach trying to target the age group and ability I’m working with. As most of them take their football seriously I also wanted to show that I take what I do seriously and I am here for them. This for me helps with the ‘convincing’.

The first weeks are vital in the convincing of players and ‘setting the tone’ for you as a coach. If players aren’t convinced you are the right person and a ‘good’ coach no matter of your experiences, then you will face a bigger challenge in making the players want to play for you.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close