Why did I start a degree?

 

Since I’ve started University the question why have you started a degree as been asked a lot. 

Quite simply I started a degree in sports coaching to further my knowledge and experiences. I know that it’s going to be much more than that.

Having been here for a few weeks already it has already met my expectations and more. Already we have considered lots of factors around why, how and what we are coaching to young people and how that will help to develop and influence their experience in sport. I have already added to my previous knowledge of what I know and I am beginning to think about how I can implement some of my new found knowledge into my own coaching practice, particularly as I am working with young players myself. I am beginning to understand further why we might do something and the real reason behind what impact that could have on my players and the person behind that.

I have found a new level of motivation towards my own learning and knowledge since starting this degree and this is making me constantly look to further my experience and push myself out of my comfort zone. I have found a place where people, just like myself, have a love for sport and coaching in particular and what to share and learn. This has really motivated me and allowing me to feel comfortable in sharing my ideas and learning off others. I know that the people I have met will become my network and will shape where my coaching journey goes. University is going to and has been a great way for me to meet likeminded coaches and share our experiences. This is something which I know will really help me on my journey.

Not only will the degree give me greater knowledge but also give me greater opportunities. Already I have been given the opportunity to take over the Women’s football 1st team, this is another great chance for me to develop further as a coach by working with open aged women. This will challenge me in ways that I haven’t previously been challenged and pushed.

I am going to continue blogging and sharing my thoughts around coaching, the course and reflections around my own coaching and thoughts.

Josh

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close